UPU: Olorogun Moses Taiga Emerges PG Unopposed • 9 Other Excos Members, Too

Posted by GRANDNEWS | 1 January 1970 | 554 times

*Taiga, PG Urhobo Progress Uniuon

By George Etakibuebu

Olorogun Moses Taiga on Friday returned unopposed as the President General of the Urhobo Progress Union (UPU) worldwide for a second term. Other 10 officers out of the 14 positions were returned unopposed to run the affairs of the umbrella body of the Urhobo nation for the next three years.

The elections held at the Urhobo Cultural Centre, Uvwiamuge, Agbarho, in Ughelli North, where the UPU had been celebrating the Urhobo Day.

Speaking to GrandNews at the weekend, the National Publicity Secretary, Hon Abel Oshevire, said the elections were conducted under a very peaceful atmosphere and were adjudged free and fair.

He described the exercise as a “keenly contested election”. He gave the results as follows: “Olorogun Kenneth Iwhewhe, former President General of Ughelli Kingdom and Chairman  of the Forum of Presidents General, defeated the former National Secretary of the Union by one vote. While Olorogun scored 220 votes, the former National Secretary, Barr. Ese Gam Owe, scored 219.

“In other results, Hon Abel Oshevire, defeated his lone challenger, Mr. Abraham Obodo, former Editor of the Guardian Newspaper by 72 votes. While Hon Oshevire scored 252 votes,  Mr. Ogbodo got 180 votes.

“Barr. Issac's Itebu also defeated his lone challenger to retain his position as National Legal Adviser. On the other hand, Dr. Dickson Oyovwi defeated his two challengers to retain his position as Assistant National Secretary.

“The other 10 officers returned unopposed included the President General, Olorogun Moses Taiga;  first Deputy President General, Chief Anthony Onoharigho; second President General, Chief Francis Ifie; third President General, Mr. Keston Ojighoro and Chief Abel Opuidi, National Treasurer”, he explained.


Readers Comments


No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...