Okowa Dedicates Governor of the Year Award To Deltans

Posted by Grand News | 19 November 2018 | 877 times

Hon Festus Agas receiving the Award on behalf of Governor Okowa

Delta State Governor, Sen Dr Ifeanyi Okowa on Sunday dedicated his New Telegraph 2018 Governor of the Year Award (Human Capital Development and Infrastructure) to the good people of Delta State.

 Okowa, who was represented at the Awards ceremonies by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Hon Festus Ovie Agas, and the Commissioner for Information, Ogbueshi Patrick Ukah said the Award was made possible by Deltans who not only gave him the opportunity to serve through a popular pan Deltan mandate some 42 months ago, but have also ensured that there exists an enabling environment for him to perform.

Receiving the Award on behalf of the Governor, Agas said “His Excellency, Sen Dr Ifeanyi Okowa is delighted with this Award as the Governor of the Year (Human Capital Development and Infrastructure) and wishes to thank the management and staff of the New Telegraph for finding him worthy of this Award. This Award is dedicated to Deltans for not only massively voting for him but also making it possible for him to perform”.

Governor Okowa was among 28 Awardees in various categories which cut across Politics, Economics, Entrepreneur, Sports, Entertainment and Business inside the Balmoral Hall, Federal Palace Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos on Saturday night.

Speaking on the Award, Ogbueshi Ukah said “ without being immodest, it is a testimony to the fact that Governor Okowa has led the state to lay a very solid foundation that will be difficult to destroy. He is moving the state forward. With him, there is no room for abandoned projects. He not only completes previous ones, he commences and finishes necessary and essential projects. And I agree completely with what the SSG said on behalf of His Excellency, that the award is truly dedicated to Deltans who have given us the mandate and the enabling environment to perform”.

Earlier, Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of New Telegraph Newspaper, Mrs. Funke Egbemode, in her welcome speech said the 2018 New Telegraph Awards was designed to encourage individuals who, against all odds, are doing their very best to keep Nigeria going notwithstanding the numerous challenges in the country.

Quoting Winston Churchill, she said: ‘success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts.’

“We believe that if we appreciate those who are faithful in little things, they will be encouraged to do more. That is why we are here tonight; to celebrate achievement and achievers, to count our blessings instead of dwelling on our errors.” Egbemode said the awardees were carefully selected.

The event which was chaired by former Ogun State Governor and veteran journalist, Chief Segun Osoba, was graced by many dignitaries which include past and serving governors, administrators, captains of industries, sports personalities and entertainment buffs.


Source: Grand News

Readers Comments


No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...